John Kasich, then-Governor of Ohio, signed the medical marijuana control act into law in 2016. However, the first Ohio dispensary was not open until March 2017.
The public was patient with the delayed rollout of the program because, as cannabis enthusiasts know, a slower burn is better. It was worth it.
Twenty-eight state-owned dispensaries in Ohio offer a variety of cannabis products. They include tinctures, oils, topicals, and a range of marijuana strains. These products can be used to treat symptoms and provide relief.
More dispensaries will be opened as the program rolls out. Twenty-eight provisional licensees still need state approval before receiving their Certificates for Operation to open a dispensary.
Are you looking to purchase medical cannabis in Ohio? First, you must be registered in the Ohio Board of Pharmacy’s patient registry.
There are few crucial steps you need to follow.
1. See If You Qualify
Medical marijuana is only that, medical marijuana. It is not for everyone.
Ohio has 21 qualifying conditions. These include HIV/AIDS, Amyotrophic lateral sclerosis, Lou Gehrig’s disease, Alzheimer’s, Cancer, Crohn’s, Epilepsy, Other seizure disorders, Fibromyalgia, and Glaucoma.
More than 42,000 Ohioans are currently able to purchase medical marijuana legally. Most Ohioans who have registered for the program cite chronic pain and PTSD, fibromyalgia, and cancer as reasons to use medical marijuana.
2. Visit A Doctor
A doctor’s recommendation is required to be included in the Ohio marijuana registry. It would help if you had the physician sign off on the following:
- There is a good patient-physician relationship.
- The patient is in a qualified medical condition.
- The doctor has discussed with you the potential benefits and dangers of medical cannabis.
- The physician has reviewed the patient’s records in the state’s controlled substance database.
Patients (adults or minors) and caregivers must bring a valid state driver’s license, ID card, or passport to the doctor.
The state certifies caregivers to transport medical marijuana to patients. They must be 21 years of age and can only act as caregivers for two patients. Two caregivers can be assigned to a patient. Although patients are not required by law to name a caregiver for their care, a named caregiver can be a great option for patients with disabilities or who otherwise would find it difficult to access a dispensary.
Once a certified physician recommends medical marijuana, caregivers and patients will be sent an email with link that allows them to confirm their registration and pay a $50 annual registration fee. The fee for veterans and those eligible for federal entitlement programs is $25.
After payment, the card is downloaded. A copy can be printed or displayed at a dispensary in electronic format. The card’s expiration date is one year after the last day of each month.
4. Visit A Dispensary
It’s more complex than simply walking into a dispensary. You will need a photo ID and patient registry card to access the dispensary.
The trained staff will assist patients with selecting the best product once they are inside. All medical marijuana products must be kept in their original containers. The original label must be printed for each patient.
5. Get A Product
According to state law, patients are restricted to a 90-day supply at any time. The amounts are also tracked throughout the state. Because everyone has different appetites, the state defines a supply of THC.
Fortunately, THC (tetrahydrocannabinol) is a marijuana compound that generates a high or euphoric feeling, so it isn’t necessarily the go-to compound for medical marijuana users.
CBD (cannabidiol), another compound, does not produce a high. Therefore, state regulations allow the possession and purchase of more CBD and THC-rich products.